GAA Report 2002



Another hurling year in Doon GAA club is coming to an end. The senior team started the season off training in February. The draw for the senior championship was not too kind for us as we were drawn with Patrickswell, Adare and Kilteely with Patrickswell being our first match. This was played on July 14th in Bruff with the result that we did not want Doon 0-12 - Patrickswell 0-17.

Our next match was against Adare who won the county title last year and as we now know won it again this year. This match was played in the Gaelic Grounds on July 28th with no luck for us losing by five points. We had a big victory over Kilteely running out easy winners on a scoreline of Doon 6-12 - Kilteely 1-6. Unfortunately it was too late and we failed to progress out of our group. We also took part in the All County League.

The Junior A team were beaten by Fedamore in the championship. They also took part in the East Intermediate championship and the East League. The senior B's were knocked out of the championship by Ballybricken, they also participated in the East League.

This year's U21 championship was played on a league basis and our team were unlucky not to qualify for the East final. The minor team qualified for the County Serni-Final against Na Piarsaigh. At full time in the match it was a draw but we had to play extra time. Unfortunately we got beaten by four points. The U16 team qualified for the County Semi-Final against Kilmallock in Gaelic Grounds and were unlucky to lose by two points. The under 15 and under 13 teams have not played to date.

Congratulations to U14 team on winning the County League and the East Feile final but they got beaten by Ballybrown in the County Feile Semi-Final. They won the East championship and then beat Ballybrown in the semi-final. Luck was not on our side against Kilmallock however. The U14s also won the Jo Maher Memorial tournament. The U13 team were successful in the Garda Cup beating Knockavilla Kickhams in the final. The U12 team beat Pallasgreen, South Liberties, Cappamore and Murroe/Boher but failed to beat Ahane in the East Final. Our Ull team were successful in the Grand hurling competition which was held in Doon.

The U10 team won the Cappamore tournament and also took part in the indoor hurling which took place in Caherconlish. The U8s participated in the indoor hurling in Caherconlish during March.

Congratulations to Michael McKenna on winning the East Limerick Sports Star Award for senior hurling and also to all the following players who were on Limerick teams and team panels:

Minor: Rodger Ryan, Ciaran Ryan and Michael Fitzgerald U16: Michael Fitzgerald U15 Rodger Maher

U14 Micheal Ryan, lan Burke and Mark Fenton.

These players were on the U14 team who won the Tony Forristal Cup All-Ireland.

Inter primary school: Niall Maher and Tom Treacy.

On February 10th our new stand was officially opened by Donal Fitzgibbon, chairman of Limerick County Board. To mark this occasion we held a senior Inter County challenge match between Limerick and Clare. This was an excellent game of hurling and drew a large attendance.

Finally I would like to take this opportunity to extend the sympathies of the club to all the families who lost loved ones during the course of the year and also to thank everyone who helped in any way possible to make this another successful year for Doon GAA club.

Before  I  finish  I  would  like  to congratulate last year's U16 team on winning the Co. Final against Na Piarsaigh.   This final was not played until November 25th therefore was not included in last year's Journal. This was a fantastic win for us and a great occasion for the parish. I would like to  thank everyone involved who helped to make thissuccess possible.


Club Officers 2002

Life President: Bill Lonergan

Presidents: Br. Dormer, Johnny Butler,

Chairman: Martin Crowe

Vice-Chairman: John Walsh, Niall Maher

Secretary: Michael O'Connell

Asst. Secretary: Maura O'Connell

Treasurer: Eddie Stapleton

Asst. Treasurer & Development Draw

Co-Ordinator: Pat O'Donovan

P.R.O.: Michael Ryan

Registrar: Patricia Collins

County Board Delegate: Andrew


East Board Delegate: Pat Cummins

Bord na nOg Delegate: Jim McGrath

Committee:  John  Collins,  Denis

Kennedy, Barry O'Brien, Jamesie

Butler, Alan O'Brien, Gerdie McGrath,

Tommy Ryan, John Cummins, Patrick

O'Brien,  Ann   O'Brien,   Mairead

Maher, Rodgie Maher, Pat Fitzgerald,

Mike Keogh, Mella Fitzgerald.

Yours in sport Mike O'Connell, Secretary



More GAA