GAA Report 2003



2003 was another successful year for Doon G.A.A. The highlights of the year was the winning the Minor County Championship. This was a great achievement for us and it has put Doon club on top of the minor table in Limerick with nine Co. Minor Titles.

Our senior team started the season off well winning the All County League. This was a special occasion as our own Pat Fitzgerald, in his role as Limerick County Chairman presented the cup to team captain, Eamon Stapleton. In the championship they qualified out of their group beating Garryspillane, drew with Adare and losing to Croorn. Our next match was against Patrickswell in County .Quarter Final in which we were unlucky not to win. This match ending in a draw with Patrickswell. Getting the score to level the game in the last minute in the replay Patrickswell were the best team on the day ending our hopes for another year.

Our junior A team followed the seniors in also winning the junior A Co. League. By this deed we made history by being the only club to win both leagues in the same year. In the championship we got beaten by Kilteely/Dromkeen by one point. We have beaten Cappamore and Ahane in Brian Butler Cup so far.

U21 team drew with Na Piarsaigh in the County Quarter Final and beat them well in the replay.  In the County Semi-final they drew with Kilmallock  on the first day but lost out in the replay in a very exciting game.   They qualified for the East Final but were  unsuccessful against a strong Ahane team on the day.



Congratulations to the minor team on winning the County Title after a lapse of 8 yrs. This was a great achievement and well done to all concerned.

The team was:

Ciaran Ryan, John Heuston, Diarmaid Ryan, Morgan Crowe, Denis Moloney,  Edward Kiely, Daniel Landers, George Allis, Mark Fenton, James Bradshaw,  Michael Fitzgerald, Roger Maher,  Roger Ryan (Capt.), Micheal Ryan,  Brian Fenton.

Subs: John O'Grady, Seamus White, Timmy    Ryan (D), Padraig Maher, Brian Hayes, Jonathan Ryan, Barry Whelan, Seamus Ryan (M), James Carr. Manager: Jim McGrath.  Selectors: Rodgie Maher, Derek Ryan and Mike O'Connell.


U16 team qualified for the County Semi-final with wins over Ballybrown, Patrickswell and Newcastle west -losing out to Na Piarsaigh by 4 pts.


U15 team took part in the Garda Cup competition beat Knockavilla Kickams in the first round but were unsuccessful against Arravale Rovers in next round.


U14 team qualified for the East Final but were unsuccessful against Ahane on the day. They won the J. Maher Tournament which was held in Doon and were beaten by St. Patricks in County League.


U12 team had a great victory over Ahane in the East Final. They beat Adare in the County Quarter Final losing out to Na Piarsaigh in Co. Semi­final.


U10 team won the Cappamore Tournament and took part in the indoor hurling which took place in Caherconlish hall during the month of November.


U8 team also participated in the indoor hurling during the month of February. Summer Camp a group of 73 boys and girls enjoyed themselves during the week of camp.



Congratulations  to  the  following players who were on Limerick teams and team Panels:


U21 - Seamus Barry Minor: Roger Ryan, Michael Fitzgerald and Denis Moloney.


U16: George Allis and Rodger Maher.


U15: Micheal Ryan, Mark Fenton and lan Bourke


Inter Primary Schools: Liam Reale


U15: County Selector: Pat Ryan (Rody) and also South/East Divisional Selector:


Feile Skills Winner:: Niall Maher


South/East Inter Divisional Munster Winners: Micheal Ryan, George Allis and Rodger Maher


Finally, I would like to thank everyone who helped in any way to make this another successful year for Doon G.A.A. club and to thank you for your continued support of our lotto and Mackey draw.

Yours in sport Mike O'Connell (Secretary)


More GAA