GAA Report 2004

The year 2004 was another successful year for our club with our senior team

winning the East Final. We also had three teams who competed in Co. Finals who

were the U16s, Minor and the U21s.

Our Senior team started the season off on a winning note by winning the East

Senior Championship beating Murroe/Boher in the Final on the 2nd May.  The

team that started on the day was: Con O'Connell, James Fox (Capt.), Seamus Barry,

Diarmuid Ryan, James O'Brien, Edward Kiely, Eamon Stapleton, Derek Ryan,

Tadhg Hayes, David Stapleton, Bernard Crowe, Jason Ryan, Michael McKenna,

Paddy Coleman, Don Anderson.

Manager: Niall Maher: Selectors: Kevin McGrath and Paddy Moloney.

In the County Championship we were not as successful winning our first match

beating Groom but losing to Adare and Na Piarsaigh.   This put us in a situation

where we had to play Croom again on September 4th which we ended up losing

by a point and that finished our hopes for the year.

In the County League we beat Garryspillane, Croom, Kilmallock and Kileedy. We

drew with Na Piarsaigh and lost to only Patrickswell and Ballybrown. This put us

in second place in the competition.

Our Junior A team qualified for the East Final losing to Caherline by five points.

The two teams in the East Final proceed on in the Championship where we met

Hospital/Herbertstown in the County Quarter Final on September 19th.   After a

brave display we lost by six points.   This team also took part in the East League

reaching the Final of this competition.

Our Junior B team took part in the East League and Championship.   One man

who was anxious that we would field a Junior B team this year was the late Tom

O'Brien, R.I.P., who did so much work for this club as a player, selector and

administrator and also wrote our club history.   May God have mercy on his soul,


Our U21 team got to East Final and beat Ahane in this on September 26th. They

then beat Bruff in Co. Quarter Final and Ballybrown in Co. Semi Final.   The

County Final was played in Kilmallock on Sunday, 7th November with our

opposition being Na Piarsaigh.  This was a match that we deserved to come out

winners of as our team hurled with great heart and determination but luck was not

with us as Na Piarsaigh scored a late questionable goal in injury time.   Defeat is

hard to accept in these situations but this team did our club proud and we

congratulate everyone involved.

The team on the day of the County Final was: Con O'Connell, Aodhan O'Brien,

Seamus Barry (Capt.), Diarmuid Ryan, Ger Beary, Edward Kiely, Denis Moloney,

George Allis, Niall Lysaght, Rodger Ryan, Michael Fitzgerald, Jason Ryan, Michael

Ryan, Thomas McLoughlin, James Bradshaw.

Manager: Denis Barry: Selectors: Denis Kennedy, John Collins and Alan O'Brien.

Our Minor team reached the Co. Final for the second time in succession with wins

over Dromin-Athlacca, Ballybrown, Na Piarsaigh, Adare and Patrickswell and only

losing to Kilmallock.   The Co. Final was played on October 10th in the Gaelic

Grounds before the Senior Final.   Our opponents were the same as last year,

Kilmallock, and they made up for last years loss by defeating us.

The team was: Joe Nolan, Tom Breen, John Hueston, lan Bourke, Denis Moloney

(Capt.), Morgan Crowe, James Carr, George Allis, Mark Fenton, Roger Maher,

Michael Fitzgerald, Daniel Quirke, Michael Ryan, Brian Fenton,Timmy Ryan (D).

Manager: Jim McGrath; Selectors: Rodgie Maher, Derek Ryan and Ollie Walsh.

Our U16 team also reached the Co. Final with wins over Ahane, Patrickswell,

Mungret, Kilmallock and Granagh/Ballingarry. We drew with St. Patricks and lost

only to Ballybrown. The Co. Final was played on August 22nd in Claughaun losing

to a stronger Kilmallock team on the day.  The team that started on the day was:

Cathal McNamara, Shane Whelan, Seamus Ryan, Tom Treacy, Conor Ryan, lan

Bourke, Arthur Crowe, Daniel Quirke, James Carr, Owen Fitzgibbon, Mark Fenton,

Niall Maher, Cormac Ryan, Michael Ryan, Shane McKenna.

Manager: David Stapleton: Selectors: Paddy Coleman, James Fox and Pat Ryan.

Our U14 team took part in the Feile competition reaching the East Final losing out

to a stronger Ahane team who went on to win the All-Ireland.   In the East

Championship and Co. League we had no great luck as there were only three

players up to the age in this team which was a big disadvantage.

Our U13 team defeated Murroe/Boher, South Liberties and reached the East Final

losing narrowly to Ahane on a score Doon 1-1, Ahane 1-3.

Our U12 team had wins over Murroe/Boher, Pallasgreen, Cappamore and South

Liberties reaching the East Final against Ahane losing by just one point. This team

also won the East League.

Our Ull team qualified with Ahane in Ground Hurling in the East.  They then

contested the Semi Final losing to Na Piarsaigh in Rathkeale on June 28th.

Our UK) and U8 teams took part in the indoor hurling programme in

Caherconlish Hall during the months November and February. Our U10 team also

won the Pallasgreen Tournament which was a six a side tournament.

Congratulations to Michael McKenna who played in the Munster Championship

with the Limerick Senior Team.    Also to Gerdie McGrath and Dan Holmes who

played on the Limerick Over40s team who won the All Ireland.   Also to Kevin

McGrath on being selected as East Junior A Player of the Year. Congratulations also

to the following players who played or were on the Limerick Panels.

Senior: Michael McKenna: U21, Seamus Barry, Michael Fitzgerald and Denis

Moloney: Minor, Michael Fitzgerald and Denis Moloney: U16, Michael Ryan: U14,

Cathal McNamara: U14 Interdivisional Team: Liam Reale and Cathal McNamara:

Primary Game: Michael Barry.

On the Hurling Camp this year we had 58 boys and girls who had a very enjoyable

week learning the skills of Hurling and Football.

Finally I would like to thank everyone who helped the club in any way possible to

make 2004 a successful year.


Yours in sport, Mike O'Connell, Secretary.



More GAA