In the Postal Directory of Munster issued in 1886, Doon is listed as hereunder.

Doon (Co. Limerick)
Post Office and parish, partly in Co. Tipperary, but chiefly in Co. Limerick. Population of parish in Co. Limerick, 4,204; in Co. Tipperary, 825; of village, 404. The land is chiefly meadow and pasture, with a considerable extent of mountains, portion of the Bilboa range; some valuable bog in the lower part of parish. The soil in some parts exceedingly rich, but the meadows are frequently overflowed by the Dead and the Mulcair rivers. Near the close of the last century more than 100 acres of bog moved from one townland into two others, freestone of fine quality is quarried here for public buildings, and for exportation. Within the limits of the parish are some fine demesnes. Castlegarde is an ancient castle of the Desmonds, enlarged and restored in the baronial style, with a lofty keep and ramparts; Toomaline house was formerly a priory of Canons Regular.

Postal address: Doon, Pallasgreen

Money order office: Cappamore 4 m. nearest telegraph office.

Postmaster: Michael Ryan.

Conveyances: Pallasgreen 4 m. (Waterford and Limerick) nearest station. Public car from Doon, through Cappamore to Dromkeen, to meet train to Limerick at 9 a.m. returning after arrival of train from Limerick at 4.30 p.m.

Poor Law: Union of Limerick; Dispensary and Registration District of Murroe.

Petty Sessions and Constabulary District of New Pallasgreen. In charge of Doon station - Sergeant John Horgan.

Fairs - January 7, February 4, March 3, April 1, May 3, June 1, July 17, August 7, September 6, October 4, November 2, December 6; Pig fairs previous day.

Gentry and Clergy: Agnes Mother. M. Superioress, Convent of Mercy, Bredin William, J.P.,Castlegarde, Duggan Rev. John, C.C., Doon, McLaughlin Rev. Alexander, A.M., Rector, O'Donnell Rev. Canon Thomas, P.P., Doon O'Donnell Rev. Patrick, C.C., Doon Ryan Brother P., Director Christian Brothers.

Schools: Christian Brothers. Director - Brother P. Ryan.
National, Convent. Head teachers -
Sisters of Mercy.
National, Doon.
National, Endowed.

Convent: Sisters of Mercy. Superioress - Mother M. Agnes. Chaplain - Rev. John Duggan.

Hotel: Hayes Patrick.
Baker: Fahey John, Doon.
Car Owner: Hayes Patrick, Doon.
Draper: Dwyer James, Doon.
Hardware Merchant: Dwyer James, Doon. .
Vintners: Fahey John, Hayes P., Hayes C., Ryan Michael.
Principal Farmers.-Parish Doon: Connell Michael, Castlegarde Crowe Morgan, Cooga Lower Kelly Michael, Toomaline Lower Kilbride Patrick R., Toomaline Upper Madden William, Gurtavalla South Moloney Jeremiah, Foilacleara Ryan Denis, Foilacleara Ryan John, Cooga Upper Ryan Patrick, Gurtavalla South Tierney Maurice, Cloonlusk White Mrs. Doon.



More History